ACC baseball teams begin NCAA Baseball Championship play Friday


• Eight Atlantic Coast Conference teams will be among the 64-team field when the 2023 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship gets underway this Friday.

• ACC champion Clemson will be a regional host, along with Atlantic Division winner Wake Forest, Coastal Division winner Virginia and Miami. Boston College, Duke, North Carolina and NC State were also announced as 2023 participants as the completed NCAA bracket was unveiled Monday afternoon.


• Wake Forest (47-10) was awarded the tournament’s No. 1 overall seed as it landed a spot in the NCAA bracket for the 15th time and second year in a row. The Demon Deacons became the seventh ACC program to earn the No. 1 overall seed since the NCAA went to the current format in 1999 and first from the conference since North Carolina in 2013.


• Clemson landed a No. 4 national seed, while Virginia is seeded seventh and Miami ninth. Miami’s appearance in this year’s NCAA tournament will be its 49th all-time, which ranks third nationally. Clemson (43-17) carries a 16-game winning streak into the NCAAs, the second-longest active streak in the nation and the longest among Power 5 teams.


• The ACC has placed at least six teams in the NCAA tournament for 19 straight years. This is the seventh year since 2010 that at least eight ACC teams have landed spots in the field.

• At least one ACC team has reached the College World Series each of the previous 16 years in which it has been held, and multiple ACC teams reached the CWS 10 times during that span. The ACC has placed a total of 29 teams in the past 16 College World Series, an average of just under two per season.


• A total of 107 ACC teams have earned NCAA bids in the last 14 tournament years. The 14 current ACC teams have a combined 99 College World Series appearances.

• Grad student Riley Bertram hit his first home run of the season to highlight an eight-run seventh inning, and Clemson overcame a two-run deficit to claim an 11-5 win over Miami in last Sunday’s ACC Baseball Championship final before a crowd of 4,792 at Durham Bulls Athletic Park.

• The ACC baseball championship is Clemson’s 16th and first since 2016. Each of the Tigers’ last five head coaches has won the ACC title their first year in the league – Erik Bakich (this season), Monte Lee (2016), Jack Leggett (1994), Bill Wilhelm (1958) and Bob Smith (1954).


Friday, June 2, 2023 (all times Eastern)

Charlottesville Regional hosted by Virginia

#1 Virginia (45-12) vs. #4 Army West Point (38-16), Noon, ESPN+

#2 East Carolina (45-17) vs. #3 Oklahoma (31-26), 7 p.m., ESPN2


Clemson Regional hosted by Clemson

#1 Clemson (43-17) vs. #4 Lipscomb (36-24), 1 p.m., ESPN+

#2 Tennessee (38-19) vs. #3 Charlotte (34-26), 6 p.m., ESPNU


Columbia Regional hosted by South Carolina

#2 Campbell (44-13) vs. #3 NC State (35-19), 1 p.m., ACCN

#1 South Carolina (39-19) vs. #4 Central Conn. St. (36-12), 7 p.m., ESPN+

Conway Regional hosted by Coastal Carolina

#2 Duke (35-21) vs. #3 UNCW (34-21), 1 p.m., ESPN+

#1 Coastal Carolina (39-19) vs. #4 Rider (35-19), 7 p.m., ESPN+


Coral Gables Regional hosted by Miami

#2 Texas (38-20) vs. #3 Louisiana (40-22), 2 p.m., LHN

#1 Miami (40-19) vs. #4 Maine (32-19), 7 p.m., ESPN+


Terre Haute Regional hosted by Indiana St.

#1 Indiana St. (42-15) vs. #4 Wright St. (39-21), 1 p.m., ESPN+

#2 Iowa (42-14) vs. #3 North Carolina (35-22), 7 p.m., ACCN


Tuscaloosa Regional hosted by Alabama

#2 Boston College (35-18) vs. #3 Troy (39-20), 3 p.m., ESPN+

#1 Alabama (40-19) vs. #4 Nicholls (34-22), 7 p.m., ESPN+


Winston-Salem Regional hosted by Wake Forest

#2 Maryland (41-19) vs. #3 Northeastern (44-14), 1 p.m., ESPN+

#1 Wake Forest (47-10) vs. #4 George Mason (34-25), 7 p.m., ESPN+