ACC Well Represented on Maxwell Award Watch List

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Twelve student-athletes from the Atlantic Coast Conference have been named to the Maxwell Award Watch List, as announced Monday by the Maxwell Football Club. Three players – Syracuse running back Sean Tucker, Virginia quarterback Brennan Armstrong and Wake Forest quarterback Sam Hartman – were semifinalists for the honor last season. The ACC has more returning semifinalists than any other conference.
The Maxwell Award has been presented to the College Player of the Year since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert “Tiny” Maxwell, who was a former standout at the Swarthmore College and a renowned sports writer and football official.
The Maxwell Award watch list consists of 85 players with 15 schools having two players represented, including Virginia and Wake Forest.
The Maxwell Football Club has once again partnered with Pro Football Focus (PFF), XOS and Phil Steele Publications as selection committee partners. PFF provides detailed metrics and performance-based assessments to selection committee staff, and several senior PFF analysts are members of our selection committee. Phil Steele’s College Football Preview is generally recognized as the most complete preseason magazine. XOS provides the Maxwell Club selection committee with access to game footage from all FBS colleges.
Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced November 1, 2022, while the three finalists will be unveiled November 22, 2022. The winners of the 86th Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on December 8, 2022. The formal presentations of the Maxwell Award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards live from Atlantic City, New Jersey, on March 10, 2023.
ACC Players on the 2022 Maxwell Award Watch List
Phil Jurkovec, Boston College, QB
Will Shipley, Clemson, RB
Jordan Travis, Florida State, QB
Malik Cunningham, Louisville, QB
Tyler Van Dyke, Miami, QB
Devin Leary, NC State, QB
Josh Downs, North Carolina, WR
Sean Tucker, Syracuse, RB
Brennan Armstrong, Virginia, QB
Dontayvion Wicks, Virginia, WR
Sam Hartman, Wake Forest, QB
A.T. Perry, Wake Forest, WR