Ballot set for November elections

The list of candidates on the ballot for November’s General Election is now set.

The deadline passed at 7 p.m. Tuesday night for candidates to be qualified to have their names appear on the ballot.

Pulaski County voters in November will see contested races in each district for the Board of Supervisors along with the races for Commissioner of Revenue and Treasurer.

There will also be choices in both House of Delegates races that involve Pulaski County in the 7th and 12th Districts.

Only one School Board candidate is on the ballot in each of the five districts in the county, meaning four of the five incumbents seeking re-election will gain another term and will be joined by a newcomer in Ingles District.

Kathy Webb, Director of Elections and General Registrar, said the order in which candidates’ names will appear on the ballot will be set at a state Department of Elections meeting on June 24.

Only candidates competing in General Assembly races will have party designations with their names on the ballot.

Here’s the candidate lineup for each race in November: 

Board of Supervisors:

Cloyd District:

Joseph W. “Joe” Guthrie – R

Andrew R. “Andy” Cullip – I


Draper District:

F.M. “Fritz” Streff – D

Dirksen I. “Dirk” Compton – R

Allison Haller Hunter – I


Ingles District:

Laura W. Walters – R

Ranny E. O’Dell – I


Massie District:

H.A. “Andy” McCready – R

John V. Travis – I


Robinson District:

Jeffrey S. Worrell – D

Charles R. Bopp – R


School Board:

Cloyd District:

M. “Bill” Benson, Jr. – I


Draper District:

Timothy C. Hurst – I


Ingles District:

Penny R. Golden – I


Massie District:

Beckie A. Cox – I


Robinson District:

Paige Cash – I


Constitutional Officers:


Michael W. “Mike” Worrell – D


Commissioner of Revenue:

Donna M. Gray – D

Kim L. Matthews – R



Melinda Lyons Worrell – D

Tracy G. Belcher – R


Commonwealth’s Attorney:

Mike Fleenor, Jr – D


Soil and Water Conservation Director Skyline District:

(vote for two)

George W. Hudson – I

Blair Sanders – I


Senate of Virginia– 38th District

Augustus Benton Chafin, Jr. – R


House of Delegates – 7th District

Rhonda G. Seltz – D

Larry N. “Nick” Rush – R


House of Delegates – 12th District

Chris L. Hurst – D

Forrest Hite – R



Glenn Insurance web copy