Election certification deadline a week away

The deadline for a candidate to be certified and get their name placed on the county’s General Election ballot in November is now just a week away.

Prospective candidates have until 7 p.m. on June 11 to complete the certification requirements.

As of Monday, there are competitive races for four Board of Supervisors seats and two Constitutional offices, according to Kathy Webb, Director of Elections and General Registrar.

Two candidates – incumbent Donna Gray, a Democrat and Kim Matthews, a Republican are certified and will have their names on the ballot in the race for Pulaski County Commissioner of the Revenue.

Incumbent Melinda Worrell, a Democrat and challenger Tracy Belcher, a Republican are on the ballot in the race for Pulaski County Treasurer.

So far, incumbent Sheriff Mike Worrell, a Democrat and Commonwealth’s Attorney Mike Fleenor, also a Democrat are unopposed in their re-election bids.

Four incumbent members of the Pulaski County Board of Supervisors are seeking re-election in November.

Incumbent Joe Guthrie, a Republican is unopposed in Cloyd District.

In Draper District, where Dean Pratt decided not to seek re-election, there is a three-way race. On the ballot will be “Fritz” Streff, a Democrat; “Dirk” Compton, a Republican, and Allison Haller Hunter, running as an independent.

In Ingles District, incumbent Ranny O’Dell this year is running as an independent and is opposed by Laura W. Walters, Republican.

In April, Walters won the Republican Party’s nomination to run for the Ingles District seat on the board, easily beating out O’Dell and Penny Golden during the party’s mass meeting.

Since then, Pulaski County Republican Party Chairman Aaron Smith said O’Dell had left the party to make an independent bid for re-election.

The race in Ingles District is similar to Massie District.

Incumbent Andy McCready, a Republican is on the ballot along with John Travis who is running as an independent. During the Republican Party mass meeting, McCready won the party’s nomination by two votes over Travis.

Incumbent Charles Bopp, a Republican is on the ballot for re-election in Robinson District and is being opposed by former Pulaski Mayor Jeff Worrell, a Democrat.

Currently there are no contested races for the five School Board seats up for grabs in November.

Incumbents Bill Benson (Cloyd District), Timothy Hurst (Draper District), Beckie Cox (Massie District) and Dr. Paige Cash (Robinson District) are on the ballot seeking re-election.

In Ingles District, Penny Golden is the only candidate certified to be listed on the ballot.  The current Ingles representative – Mike Barbour – announced recently he would not seek re-election.

In state races so far three Republicans are the only General Assembly candidates on the ballot in Pulaski County.

Incumbent State Senator Ben Chaffin, R-38th and incumbent Delegate Nick Rush, R-7th are on the ballot locally along with 12th District challenger T. Forrest Hite.

Voters who pay attention to a candidate’s party affiliation should take note. According to Webb, in November only General Assembly candidates will be listed on the ballot along with their party affiliation. Local candidates will be listed without any party designation.

Individuals seeking information on becoming a certified candidate and having their name on the November ballot can contact Webb at the General Registrar’s Office at 87 Commerce Street (Maple Shade Plaza) in Pulaski or call 540-980-2111.


Glenn Insurance web copy