Horton new Radford City Mayor; Huntington, Critterton win council seats; Slusher, Altieri and Burris elected to school board

David Horton will be Radford’s next mayor.

Horton defeated Radford City Councilman Keith Marshall on Tuesday, with Horton receiving 1,402 votes to Marshall’s 1,197.

In the council race, Naomi Huntington was top vote-getter with 1,169 votes followed by Jessie Critterton with 1,070 with both winning spots on council.

Other results included incumbent councilman D. Michael Turk, 1,010, Ted Bess II, 910 and Jason Vaughn with 644.

In the school board race, M. Lee Slusher was top vote-getter with 1,733 votes followed by Liz Altieri with 1,461 and George Burris with 1,207 with all three being elected to the school board.  Carl Mitchell gained 1,083 votes and Joseph Ray had 845.