Pulaski County Candidates Forum set for Tuesday

pulaski chamberThe Pulaski County Chamber of Commerce will host a Candidates Forum on Tuesday, Oct. 11 at New River Community College.

The forum, slated to begin at 7 p.m. in Rooker Hall on the campus of NRCC, will feature this year’s candidates for Town Council in Pulaski and Dublin, Pulaski Mayor and three seats on the Board of Supervisors.

Pulaski Town Council candidates running for three seats include Jeremy Clark, Tyler Clontz and Brooks Dawson, along with Mayor Shannon Collins. None of the four are opposed.

In Dublin, council candidates are Debbie Lyons, Steve Crigger and Debra Hager. None of the three incumbents are opposed.

Board of Supervisors candidates include Republican Mike Mooney in the Massie District. He is unopposed. Mooney earned the right to run in November after defeating incumbent supervisor Andy McCready in the Republican primary.

In Cloyd District, incumbent Republican Adam Hall is being challenged by Chris Stafford, running as an independent.

In Robinson District, incumbent Republican Jeff Reeves is being challenged by Colette Hash, running as an independent.

In each of these two supervisor races, candidates are running to serve the final year of four-year terms that were left vacant when, in Robinson District, Charles Bopp retired due to health concerns, and in Cloyd Joe Guthrie gave up his seat to accept a position in Richmond in Gov. Glenn Youngkin’s administration.

During the forum, each candidate will be given two minutes to introduce themselves to the audience.

Those candidates in the two contested supervisor races will then face questions from Chamber membership and from the audience at Tuesday’s forum.

Following the Q&A portion of the forum, those four candidates will have 90 seconds for a closing statement.

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 8.