Supervisors award 2022 Lead Through Service Scholarship to Gwendolyn Puckett

The Board of Supervisors and County Administrator Gives $2,500.00 Scholarship to Graduating Senior to Promote the Development of Future Local Leaders

 The Pulaski County Board of Supervisors and County Administration continues to fulfill their priority of fostering local leadership development and bolstering service to the community through the personal sponsorship of their Lead Through Service Scholarship. This year’s selected recipient of the 2022 Lead Through Service Scholarship was Gwendolyn Puckett.

Puckett Gwendolyn
Gwendolyn Puckett

“It is important that we directly invest in developing our next generation of local leaders and cultivate a mindset in our youth of continued service back to their community,” stated Jonathan D. Sweet, County Administrator. “The future of our County rests in the hands of these young developing local leaders, that will return to Pulaski County and one day serve as our teachers, our nurses, our business leaders, our entrepreneurs and our workforce that carries our community forward.”

The competitive and most coveted local scholarship is awarded to a graduating Pulaski County High School student who demonstrates leadership through serving their community and plans to continue to contribute to the community upon completion of their formal education.  The annual scholarship is in the amount of

$2,500.00 and can be utilized at any two- or four-year institution or technical degree program.

“I am honored to contribute to this scholarship and more importantly the cause of investing in our County’s future leadership,” stated Laura W. Walters, Chair, Pulaski County Board of Supervisors. “This is an excellent way to help raise up future leaders and instill in them a better appreciation and value of service to their community. We can all help to develop future public servants by encouraging their volunteerism, offering them opportunities to serve their community, and by investing in them through education.”

The annual competitive scholarship is funded personally by each individual member of the Board of Supervisors as well as the County Administrator, Assistant County Administrator and certain County staff who share in the vision of local leadership development. There are NO taxpayer’s monies involved with this scholarship and contributions are entirely voluntary. The members of the Board of Supervisors are as follows: Laura W. Walters, Chair, Dirk I. Compton, Vice-Chair, Adam P. Hall, Jeff G. Reeves and Howard “Andy” McCready. The County Administrator is Jonathan D. Sweet and the Assistant County Administrator is Anthony D. Akers.

Previous Lead Through Service Scholarship recipients are Ms. Breanna Lytton 2019, Ms. Jaelyn Szerokman 2020, Alex Turner 2021 and Ashlyn Kirtner 2021. The Scholarship has provided more than $18,000.00 in grant awards to graduating seniors of Pulaski County High School since its inception in 2019.

Pulaski County is…Leading through Service.