Board of Supervisors awards 2020 Lead Through Service Scholarship to Jaelyn Szerokman

Board of Supervisors awards 2020 Lead Through Service Scholarship to Jaelyn Szerokman

~ The Board of Supervisors and County Administrator Gives $2,000 Scholarship to Graduating Senior to Promote the Development of Future Local Leaders ~

The Pulaski County Board of Supervisors and County Administration continues to fulfil their priority of fostering local leadership development and bolstering service to the community through the personal sponsorship of their Lead Through Service Scholarship.  This year’s selected recipient of the 2020 Lead Through Service Scholarship was Jaelyn Szerokman.

“It is important we meaningfully invest in developing our next generation of local leaders and continue to cultivate a mindset in our youth of continued service back to the community that they love and who loves them,” stated Jonathan D. Sweet, County Administrator.  “We will be relying on our home-grown and talented leaders like Jaelyn to return to Pulaski County and serve as our teachers, our nurses, our business leaders, our entrepreneurs and our workforce that carries out the future of our community.”

The competitive scholarship is awarded to a graduating Pulaski County High School student who demonstrates leadership through serving his or her community and plans to continue to contribute to the community upon completion of their formal education.  The annual scholarship is in the amount of $2,000.00 and can be utilized at any two- or four-year institution or technical degree program.

“I am delighted to contribute to this important cause and invest in our County’s future through making investments in our youth,” stated Joe Guthrie, Chair, Pulaski County Board of Supervisors. “There is no better way to raise future leaders than to instill in them an appreciation and value of service to their community.  We can do that best by demonstrating community service through volunteering, by creating diverse opportunities for them to actively participate in service to their community, and by directly investing in them through initiatives like this scholarship.”

The annual competitive scholarship is funded personally by each individual member of the Board of Supervisors as well as the County Administrator, Assistant County Administrator and certain County staff who share the leadership development vision.  There are NO taxpayer’s monies involved with the scholarship and it is entirely voluntary.  The members of the Board of Supervisors are as follows:  Joe Guthrie, Chair, Mr. Charles Bopp, Vice-Chair, Ms. Laura Walters, Mr. John Travis, and Mr. Dirk Compton.  The County Administrator is Jonathan D. Sweet and the Assistant County Administrator is Anthony Akers.

Pulaski County is…Leading through Service.