County’s parents named Teachers of the Year

Pulaski County Public Schools has selected the Parents of Pulaski County as its Teachers of the Year for 2019-2020.

School Superintendent Dr. Kevin Siers made the announcement at Monday’s meeting of the school board.

The Teacher of the Year recognition is awarded annually to the school system’s most talented and respected educators and acknowledges the hard work, sacrifice, and ingenuity demonstrated by the community’s parents during the school shutdown for COVID 19.

“At a time when our access to students has been limited to phone calls, the U.S. mail, and Zoom meetings, it has been parents who have worked hardest to cause learning to occur,” said Siers.

“Whether it be instructing students through cooking lessons, helping them design and build protective masks, constructing a chicken coop, caring for small animals, leading nature walks, or providing assistance with learning packets, the parents of Pulaski County have proven to be exemplary instructors who are enriching the knowledge and skills of our students on a daily basis.

“The fact that many have successfully done this during a time of financial strain, personal stress, and uncertainty about the future is a great testament to the high value placed on education by the Pulaski County community.

“We are proud and humbled by the incredible school to home and home to school collaboration that has occurred over the past few months,” Siers continued.

“The faculty and staff of Pulaski County Public Schools enthusiastically look forward to our schools reopening and know that next year will be the best year ever thanks to the education provided during the shutdown by the parents of our students, our Pulaski County teachers of the year.”

Siers also announced the teachers of the year at the individual schools in the county. They are:

Critzer Elementary – Rhodora Compton

Dublin Elementary – Laurie Sexton

Pulaski Elementary – Randee Chrisley

Riverlawn Elementary – Susan Wirt

Snowville Elementary – Traci Dishon

Dublin Middle – Lincoln Whitaker

Pulaski Middle – Kaliegh McKillican

Career & Technical Education – Pulaski County High School – Toni Bowman

Pulaski County High School – Kirsten Hayes