NASCAR Announces NomineesFor NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2020, Landmark Award

Ard, Bonnett, Panch, Paschal, Stewart, Vogt nominated for first time 

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (March 13, 2019) — NASCAR today announced the 20 nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s Class of 2020, as well as the five nominees for the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR.

The list includes six first-time NASCAR Hall of Fame nominees whose careers spanned the entirety of NASCAR.

Among them are a NASCAR Xfinity Series pioneer and two-time champion (Sam Ard), an original member of the “Alabama Gang” (Neil Bonnett), a Daytona 500 winner (Marvin Panch), a short track ace (Jim Paschal), a three-time Cup Series champion (Tony Stewart) and the first master mechanic in NASCAR (Red Vogt).

Stewart was nominated in his first year of eligibility, and could join Jeff Gordon as a second consecutive first-ballot Hall of Famer.

The nominees were selected by a nominating committee consisting of representatives from NASCAR and the NASCAR Hall of Fame, track owners from major facilities and historic short tracks, and media. The committee’s votes were tabulated by accounting firm EY.

From the list of 20 NASCAR Hall of Fame nominees, five inductees will be elected by the NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel, which includes a nationwide fan vote on Voting Day for the 2020 class will be Wednesday, May 22.

Added to this year’s list of Landmark Award nominees are Edsel Ford II, Mike Helton and Dr. Joseph Mattioli. Two nominees return for the Landmark Award: Alvin Hawkins and Ralph Seagraves (more on each below). Potential Landmark Award recipients include competitors or those working in the sport as a member of a racing organization, track facility, race team, sponsor, media partner or being a general ambassador for the sport through a professional or non-professional role. Award winners remain eligible for NHOF enshrinement.

Following are the 20 nominees for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame, listed alphabetically:

Sam Ard, NASCAR Xfinity Series pioneer and two-time champion 

Buddy Baker, won 19 times in the NASCAR Cup Series, including the Daytona 500 and Southern 500

Neil Bonnett, won 18 times in the NASCAR Cup Series, including consecutive Coca-Cola 600 victories 

Red Farmer, three-time Late Model Sportsman champion; 1956 Modified champion 

Ray Fox, legendary engine builder, crew chief and car owner 

Harry Gant, winner of 18 NASCAR Cup Series races, including two Southern 500 victories 

Joe Gibbs, combined for nine car owner championships in Cup and XFINITY series 

John Holman, won two NASCAR Cup Series championships as co-owner of Holman-Moody Racing 

Harry Hyde, 1970 NASCAR Cup Series championship crew chief 

Bobby Labonte, won a championship in both the Cup Series and XFINITY Series

Hershel McGriff, 1986 NASCAR west series champion 

Ralph Moody, won two NASCAR Cup Series championships as co-owner of Holman-Moody Racing 

Marvin Panch, won 17 times in the NASCAR Cup Series, including the 1961 Daytona 500 

Jim Paschal, 23 of his 25 NASCAR Cup Series wins came on short tracks 

Larry Phillips, only five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion 

Ricky Rudd, won 23 times in NASCAR Cup Series, including the 1997 Brickyard 400 

Mike Stefanik, winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships

Tony Stewart, three-time NASCAR Cup Series champion, two-time Brickyard 400 winner

Red Vogt, the first master mechanic of NASCAR, and a founding member 

Waddell Wilson, won three NASCAR Cup Series championships as an engine builder 

The five nominees for the Landmark Award, listed alphabetically, are as follows… 

Edsel Ford II, Member of the Board of Directors for Ford Motor Company, long-time NASCAR supporter 

Alvin Hawkins, NASCAR’s first flagman; established NASCAR racing at Bowman Gray Stadium with Bill France Sr.

Mike Helton, named third president of NASCAR in 2000; career included track operator roles at Atlanta Motor Speedway and Talladega Superspeedway

Dr. Joseph Mattioli, founder of Pocono Raceway