Peppers Ferry names new executive director

The Board of Directors of the Pepper’s Ferry Regional Wastewater Treatment Authority is pleased to announce the selection of Ryan L. Hendrix as the Authority’s next Executive Director.

Hendrix follows the previous Executive Director, Clarke Wallcraft, who is retiring on November 1, 2021 after 18 years of leadership and service to the Authority. The Authority’s Board selected Hendrix after his successful tenure over the past 3 years as the Authority’s Deputy Executive Director.

Hendrix has over 25 years of experience in the public, private, and regulatory sectors of the water and wastewater industries. Before becoming the Authority’s first Deputy Executive Director in July 2018, Hendrix was the Utilities Superintendent for the Town of Christiansburg, Environmental Specialist with the Department of Environmental Quality, and Operations Manager for the Western Carolina Regional Sewer Authority. His experience in the industry spans four states and includes providing services in all phases of the administration of the wastewater treatment industry.

Hendrix holds an Environmental Biology baccalaureate degree from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and is a Class I Wastewater Operator as issued by the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR). As the Authority’s fourth Executive Director, Hendrix hopes to build upon the leadership and service currently provided and ensure sustainable wastewater treatment services are provided for generations to come.

The mission of the Pepper’s Ferry Regional Wastewater Treatment Authority is to provide effective and reliable wastewater treatment, and in doing so protect the public health and waters of the New River Valley. The Authority provides wastewater treatment services for six jurisdictional members, including the Town of Pulaski, City of Radford, Town of Dublin, Pulaski County Public Service Authority, Fairlawn Sewer Authority, and Montgomery County Public Service Authority. The Authority owns and operates wastewater treatment and conveyance facilities that consist of two influent pump stations, associated force mains, and a 9.0 million gallon per day (MGD) Wastewater Treatment Plant.